top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureMaddy Curtis

HOW TO PROPERLY FUEL YOUR WORKOUT

Updated: Feb 20, 2019


EMBRACE YOUR CARBS...HEALTHY CARBS

I can't be stress this enough! There seems to be a fear of carbs these days, but research shows carbs are a great source of energy, they help your muscles grow and improve your brain function.


As I'm in university, I find it hard to get my daily dose of HEALTHY carbs. Some of these carbs can include starchy vegetables like sweet potatoes, squash, whole grains, and legumes.


If you are less than 2 hours away from your workout try to choose foods that digest quickly, meaning low fiber. This will help your muscles get instant access to fuel and won't upset your tummy during your pump.


Some tips if you live in a university residence like me;

  • There are soooo many microwave recipes!

  • I like to use the food network where one of my favorite things to cook is squash.

  • Go to the grocery store often

  • Don't forget your fruits and vegetables (I struggle with this, so I take powdered greens.


FUEL YOURSELF BEFORE YOU GO TO THE GYM

Many days I head to the gym right after class and forget to eat because I don't want to eat the university cafeteria or go all the way back to my room. I usually carry an apple in my backpack or a protein bar, but this won't always do the trick before a workout.


Try your best to have a healthy snack or meal before you workout because I promise you, you WILL NOT burn more fat by exercising on an empty stomach. In the best case, you might just not get a good workout in because you have no energy I n your muscles to carry you through your pump. Worst case, you could end up on the sweaty gym floor after passing out with no power.


If you are a morning exerciser like me eat something small on the way even if you are not hungry. If you want to reach the goals your muscles have to have something in them to help you. If you exercise later in the day make sure you eat a little something between 3-4 hours before your workout.


Best pre-workout snacks:

  • Dates stuffed with nuts

  • A handful of dried fruit like raisins

  • Banana with a small spoonful of pent butter

  • Protein balls

  • Protein bar (I love "Boho bars")

  • Tip: Find what works for you, and try different foods


REFUEL YOURSELF WITH A MIX OF PROTEIN & CARBS

Most high training athletes don't have to stress about the ratio for what they eat after working out, which would be a mix of proteins and carbs. Make sure you are refueling maximum 30 mins to an hour, this will help you feel less sore and help speed up your recovery to be able to workout again faster. Making sure you eat right after your workout helps stop you from starving later in the day and binge eating= ruining your workout.


My post-workout snacks:

  • Avocado toast with an egg (sooo white girl, I know)

  • Yogurt parfait with greek yogurt

  • Energy Bites

  • Protein bars/powder

  • Chia seeds mixed with overnight oats

DRINK LOTS OF WATER THROUGHOUT THE DAY

Make sure that your drinking water more than just during or after your workout. Make sure you are continually sipping throughout the day. Water helps you feel better during your workout but also helps you recover faster.


If you don't like plain water, try adding unsweetened crystal light drinks in or add in some lemon.

How drinking lots of water feels

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Commentaires


bottom of page